Elena's Quest

Balancing family, fitness, faith, career and fun!

The Before Picture January 5, 2012

Filed under: General — Elena @ 10:35 pm

Well we have been having some internet problems here so no posts for the last couple of days.  I pretty much work in a fishbowl (aka cube land) so it is hard to try and do it at work – even over lunch hour.

Anyhow, the last couple of days have been busy.  We had senior management in our offices yesterday as one of my partners was celebrating 15 years with our company!  They had a nice cocktail reception for her where everyone said lots of nice stuff.  When senior managers come we wear suits – ick!

Today at work was also hectic.  As I mentioned I am a recruiter and we had a large job fair to attend.  The facility was downtown where our offices are so we walked over.  Believe it or not it was SIXTY DEGREES which is CRAZY in Iowa in January.  It was really nice to get out and meet some new candidates.  I had to wear a suit again.  I really don’t remember the last time I wore a suit twice in one week.  Good thing tomorrow is jeans day since I don’t actually own any more suits!

OK – onto the fun stuff.  As I’ve mentioned I am starting Farrell’s.  Today we had to go get our BEFORE pictures taken.  They basically had advised us to wear as little as possible as anything lose, baggy or long won’t really show what you look like – thus the BEFORE and AFTER will be harder to compare.  I wore tight yoga shorts and a sports bra.  I just couldn’t do a bikini but I figure it was pretty close!  I don’t have the picture but think I will take one myself tomorrow or Saturday (when the program officially starts) so I can post it.  Nothing like putting yourself out there, literally, for accountability!

The lady at Farrell’s said on Saturday we will run a mile, do a sit and reach, see how many sit ups and push ups we can do in a minute and get our starting weight and measurements.  I’ll post all that to make tracking easier.  I think they do a halfway check at 5 weeks (although maybe not the run) and then again at 10 weeks for the AFTER.  Should be interesting and fun.  I am actually really looking forward to getting started!

I think I posted previously that I am most worried about the nutrition piece.  I have been trying to make better choices this week to “get in the groove”.  I’ve made some overnight oats which I found I actually like.  The past two weeks I had pretty much had regular oatmeal every work morning for breakfast.  I was starting to get a little tired of it so decided to switch it up.  I had heard about overnight oats on some other blogs so decided to dig up a recipe.  There are some good ones at Kath Eats Real Food.  I have been doing variations of these and they are YUMMY!

Now to get really honest I am slightly really dreading the no alcohol thing.  I think I mentioned that I LIKE MY WINE!  It is my favorite way to relax at the end of the day – you know wind (wine?) down…… As I understand, there is one “cheat/treat” day allowed per week when a bit of indulgence is OK.  BUT  I am torn about whether or not I am going to take advantage of that.  If I was the kind of person who just wanted one glass of vino and could have it with a cracker and a carrot it would easy.  Unfortunately I am NOT that person and instead want a few glasses of wine and the cheese, crackers and dark chocolate that pair so wonderfully with it!  My guess is this could hinder progress on the diet/exercise front………At this point my plan is to get through week one and see what I think about the “treat” day.  Maybe if I really want it I will go for it – if it seems not that important I will skip it.  Saturdays will be my indulgent days so I guess I just take it one Saturday at a time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

